We are a Community Charity based in Clitheroe serving the Ribble Valley bringing you great music to just enjoy or hopefully participate in.

Venues

Large and small throughout the Ribble Valley
Home     /

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - BILLIE HOLIDAY: A POET´S MUSE

Date: Mar 4, 2021 12:00:00

Some musicians leave a legacy that assumes far greater significance than their career. Billie Holiday is the fourth guest, following John Coltrane, Bessie Smith and Gil Evans and although hers was a life since re-visited, perhaps even revised, in film it is the attitudes and recollections of one particular song that sets her apart and is as relevant in these times of Black Lives Matter even as it was in the times of the atrocities it describes. Come follow your art, down murky sidetracks & detours of terrible truths.

Go to website

Upcoming Events

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - Joined-Up-Jazz Festival

Monday, 1 March - 12:00
JOHN COLTRANE AND HIS LOVE SUPREME

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - Bessie Smith – EMPRESS OF THE BLUES

Tuesday, 2 March - 12:00
By Norman Warwick, a Joined Up Jazz journalist

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - GIL EVANS : the Lone Arranger

Wednesday, 3 March - 12:00
by Gary Heywood-Everett, a Joined-Up-Jazz journalist

Matt E and Miles P Duo Fooleesha

Wednesday, 3 March - 21:00 to 23:00
RV Jazz and Blues Matt and Miles Duofooleesha

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - BILLIE HOLIDAY: A POET´S MUSE

Thursday, 4 March - 12:00
By Norman Warwick, a Joined-Up-Jazz journalist

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - SCENE SEEN

Friday, 5 March - 12:00
by Norman Warwick

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - ISRAEL: a New Orleans jazz experience?

Monday, 8 March - 12:00
By Steve Bewick, a Joined-Up-Jazz journalist

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - ELLA FITZGERALD: First Lady Of Song

Tuesday, 9 March - 12:00
By Norman Warwick, a Joined-Up-Jazz journalist

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - SWING TIME IN EUROPE

Wednesday, 10 March - 12:00
By Steve Bewick, a Joined-Up-Jazz journalist

Paul Rigby presents “Big Bands & Beyond”

Wednesday, 10 March - 21:00 to 22:00
Professional Musician, Educator and Broadcaster, Paul joins the team presenting “Big Bands and Beyond”.

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - COLOURS OF JAZZ IN SPRING

Thursday, 11 March - 12:00
By Norman Warwick, a Joined-Up-Jazz journalist

SIDETRACKS & DETOURS - Joining Up Jazz

Friday, 12 March - 12:00
Steve Bewick, Gary Heywood-Everett & Norman Warwick, Susanna Forden

Sue B and All that Jazz

Wednesday, 17 March - 21:00 to 22:00

Phil Lee's Jazz Pleasures

Wednesday, 24 March - 21:00 to 22:00

Sue B and All that Jazz

Wednesday, 21 April - 21:00 to 22:00